skip to Main Content

UpStream is designed to be customizable, so you can modify each user type to have different capabilities.

However, when you first install Upstream, each user type has several default permissions. Below is a chart that shows what each user type can or cannot do.

Action Upstream Manager Upstream User Upstream Client User
Can create projects Yes No No
Can view projects Yes; can view any projects Yes, only if they are the project owner or are assigned to a component (milestone, task, bug, etc.) Yes, only if they are selected under the Client Users list in the
Project Details section of the admin area
 
Can edit project info (title, status, owner, description, etc.) Yes; can edit project info for any project Yes, only if they are the project owner or they are assigned to any component (milestone, task, bug, etc.) of the project Yes, only if they are selected under the Client Users list in the
Project Details section of the admin area
Can delete projects Yes; for any project No No
Can view project components (milestones, tasks, bugs, etc.) Yes; for any project Yes; they can view any component of a project if they are assigned to
any component of that project (milestone, task, bug, etc.)
Yes, only if they are selected under the Client Users list in the
Project Details section of the admin area
Can edit project components (milestones, tasks, bugs, etc.) Yes; for any project Yes, only the components (milestone, task, bug, etc.) assigned to
them
Yes, only the components (milestone, task, bug, etc.) assigned to them or ones they created
Can delete project components (milestones, tasks, bugs, etc.) Yes; for any project Yes, only the components (milestone, task, bug, etc.) assigned to
them
Yes, only the components (milestone, task, bug, etc.) assigned to them or ones that they created
Can add project components (milestones, tasks, bugs, etc.) Yes; for any project
 
Yes; they can add new components to a project if they are assigned to
any component of that project (milestone, task, bug, etc.)
Yes, only if they are selected under the Client Users list in the
Project Details section of the admin area

Related Articles